Favorite Blogs of 2015 | PJ’s Blogger New Year’s Challenge Day #3

new-year-blogging-challenge

To start 2016 off on a positive and proactive note, I decided to participate in Parajunkee’s Blogger New Year’s Challenge for the first 2 weeks of the new year; however, I’m doing a somewhat adaptation to the post topics since I wasn’t as active as I was hoping I’d be in 2015. Also, I wanted to incorporate some foodie things… because I can. ūüôā

Reviews will begin again on 01/15 and recipes will begin again on 2/01. 

Another day, another post. Yesterday, I shared with you my favorite blog posts of 2015. Today, I will be sharing with you my top 5 favorite blogs.

Not much to anyone’s surprise, the blogs I will be sharing are ongoing favorites that I have (most likely) shared with you already. In case you’re new to my world, let me enlighten you on awesome content.

  1. Smitten Kitchen¬†– Deb is effing fantastic. I don’t know how she continuously puts up consistently unique posts weaving personal experiences with detailed recipes. She has such a unique voice that I look forward to reading¬†the¬†narrative in her posts as much as I look forward to the recipe. If you have never been to her site, you need to check it out. There’s a recipe at this point for anyone with any craving. My personal favorites from this past year are the Carrot Graham Layer Cake and her Jacked-Up Banana Bread recipes. I think I made that banana bread recipe 1-2 times a month. No judging.
  2. Est√©e Lalonde¬†– As I have previously mentioned, I fan girl hard on Est√®e. Her sense of style is comfortable yet chic. I don’t know if that’s what she’s going for or what, but it works. I also have an unhealthy obsession with beauty products and I trust her to be completely honest about any product. She’s also kind of quirky and subtly awkward, which makes me giggle in almost every video she uploads. Basically, go to her blog, subscribe to her channel on YouTube, follow her on Twitter – all of it. She also thoroughly enjoys food & I like seeing what her and her boyfriend are eating… because I guess I’m a creep like that.
  3. Vampire Book Club¬†– Chelsea is my woman crush Wednesday. Seriously, she can do no wrong. I must have started following her years and years ago when I first discovered the wonderful world of book blogging and have looked to her for book recommendations ever since. Most recently, I realized that not only were her PNR and UF recs the absolute best (& my personal faves) but her contemporary and non-paranormal reads were spot on, as well. Luckily, I get to review books on the VBC with other equally awesome ladies but this isn’t why this is a top blog for me. I’m subscribed to the newsletter & get sent a post-update email every week day. VBC is my go-to for book recommendations (from Chelsea, or otherwise) & if you’re into PR, UF, YA, or any of their sub-genres, you need to head over there right now and subscribe. Do it.
  4. The Pioneer Woman¬†– This one is self-explanatory. Who doesn’t love Ree? Her recipes remind me of home and I’m Cuban, people. Ree doesn’t cook homemade Cuban food. I think it’s the slow cooking aura that surrounds her recipes that feel both familiar and non-confrontational, making you want to print that recipe and start cooking. My favorite recipe of hers is the Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls that I now make on a traditional basis for Post-Thanksgiving breakfast the day after.
  5. Parajunkee¬†– Rachel uploads book reviews, blogging 101 posts, and is also an author. I love her challenges (like this one I’m currently participating in) because it gets my creative juices flowing (I dislike that saying). Her reviews are pretty cut-throat, which I enjoy because I love the honesty. She also has 2 awesome ladies reviewing with her – Patti & Sabrina, the Romance and Geeky Junkees, correspondingly – that write up some of the most accurate and spoiler-free¬†reviews I’ve ever read.

Funnily enough, these blogs are all ran by women I admire. The point here isn’t to be cheesy or suck up; rather, the point is to empower one another (female or male) and spread the word. These are all blogs with extremely interesting [to me] and ongoing content. These women are not¬†one-dimensional and live their life for their blog; they have jobs & other facets of their life that are just as (if not more) important and they plan accordingly. That balance and drive is something I strive for.

Let me know which blogs you fell in love with in 2015. Reading about people’s passions – whether it be food, books, beauty, etc. – inspires me and motivates me to talk about the things I am passionate about.

Until tomorrow, here is where you can find me:

Twitter: twitter.com/jannellereads
Instagram: instagram.com/jannellereads
Vampire Book Club: vampirebookclub.net
Facebook: facebook.com/jannellereads
Goodreads: goodreads.com/jannellereads
Tumblr: jannellereads.tumblr.com/
YouTube: JannelleReads Channel
Follow me on Bloglovin

And I am also an affiliate at:
Amazon
The Book Depository

 See you soon!

-Jannelle

Leave a Reply

